SCD Souffle Bread-Best EVER!

I ordered a bunch of new cookbooks and have been trying recipes everyday. I have to say almost every recipe I have tried from Grain-Free Gourmet and Everyday Grain-Free Gourmet by Jodi Bage and Jenny Lass has been a success. And let me tell you, most of my SCD attempts have been terrible failures but these recipes come out perfect everytime! I tried the Souffle Bread from Grain Free Gourmet. It is basically the egg bread recipe but this one called for Dried Curd Cottage cheese and the texture and flavor came out great! It was firm and didn’t have an eggy taste at all. I made a huge batch and froze it.  I plan to just pull it out when we want sandwhiches or toast. I actually ate a piece tonight with sundried tomatoes, goat cheese and the SCD yogurt. It was delicious! Here is the recipe:

9 egg whites

pinch salt

6 egg yolks

2/3 cup Dried Curd Cottage Cheese (I get mine at Whole Foods) or SCD yogurt cream cheese

2 Tbsp water ( I used SCD goats milk yogurt in stead as it is pretty runny anyway)

Preheat oven to 300 degrees

Beat egg whites with salt until stiff (THANK YOU KITCHENAIDE!!)

In food processor mix remaining ingredients until well blended.

Fold into stiff egg whites

Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper

Spread Batter evenely over parchment paper and Bake for 30 minutes

Remove from oven and carefully flip bread over and bake another 10 minutes.

Let cool and cut into squares.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

